Making flair pins and buttons

This video came up in a few of my feeds this morning.

The static instruction page is here.

I really like to see easy ways to avoid buying specialized hardware, especially when the specialization of the hardware leads to repetitive, homogenized products.
Recently, I started playing with a (traditional) button-press that i got off craigslist. It is a lot of fun, and people like buttons (and pins, magnets, keychains, zipper-pulls)… but each different size/shape requires a different die, shells, backers, etc… and they all come out looking the same. That’s great for repeatability, but not so much for originality.

Safety pins are a great start. What other hardware might be incorporated in a similar way to make unique items?

39 Likes

Oh that’s extremely clever with the pin!!

4 Likes

I love it!

At work, we use magnetic name tags for trade show. The button has a metal strip at the back, and on the inside of our shirt there’s a magnet that holds it in place. That could work here as well.

12 Likes

We do too…

Interestingly, the magnet bar (top) has a warning not to wear this if one has a pacemaker. The safety pin might be the, well, safer option…

12 Likes

How 'bout nuts 'n bolts? First layer is just nut-sized cut outs. Second layer is made to fit the shaft of the bolt. Third layer is house numbers or something epoxied to a flat bolt head.

7 Likes

Looking at the instructions for that, btw, it seems as if a laser that could engrave/score to a specific depth could do the safety pin thing in one step. All you need is enough depth to get a glue layer over the back wire and a slight recess for the head. (Yeah, you’d need to be doing 2-sided registration).

4 Likes

:open_mouth: that’s really cool! can’t wait to make one of those!

1 Like

Brian approves and so do I.

15 Likes