Shot Glass Jig & Template

I’m buying a Glowforge primarily to expand the range of gift and souvenir products I sell. That will likely involve low-volume production of various items including etched shot glasses. As nice as the Bur-Lane Rack Star system seems, I’m concerned about whether (A) it will fit in the limited z-height of the Glowforge and (B) how long it will take me to sell enough shot glasses to pay for it. After much thought and some experimentation on how to make a jig that will hold several shot glasses in place within the Glowforge, I finally came up with something that I think can work.

In the sharing spirit of the Glowforge forum, I’m sharing the final design and a tutorial that you can use to guide you through creating similar jigs for other items.

Note that I have never used a laser before nor have I cut these files. It will be one of my first projects when my Glowforge arrives. Please let me know if you see flaws in my design.

Tools Used
Digital Caliper (to size up your widget)
Fusion 360 (to model your widget)
123D Make (to slice your jig)
CorelDraw or other vector software (to maximize your efficiency)

I used a combination of Fusion 360, 123D Make, and CorelDraw to create this jig and associated template. I can probably count on my fingers the number of hours I have spent learning and experimenting with Fusion 360. This is the first real design I successfully created with it. Similarly, I have very little experience with 123D Make. I do have a lot of experience with CorelDraw and I’m sure any of you comfortable with Illustrator or Inkscape or other vector software will be able to duplicate these results in those tools.

Sizing Things Up