Ability to label "layers"?

What would be the possibility of getting a feature or function to label layers within the application? I am new to Glowforge, and love the functionality of the system and UI, but I was wondering if there is a way to possibly label layers that can, in turn, help me decide if a specific “layer” needs to be Scribed, Etched, Cut or Ignored.

Thanks for the consideration.

2 Likes

Maybe I am misunderstanding your question, but you can create multiple layers by using different colors. Each color will come up in its own “layer ‘ and you can then decide which operation you want to perform.

2 Likes

Guess I am “p;d school” in labeling things vs color coding…just need to change my approach I guess.

If you want to request a feature, you need to post in Problems and Support, or send an email. GF doesn’t monitor this forum.

Yes, I wish. A text label.

You could then label it to say “Cut this”, “Engrave this”

TBH, I would prefer you could embed the cut/engrave instructions in the SVG files or allow a pre-mapping of standard colours to standard actions.

Once a week I will end up cutting when it should have been scored and having to throw the whole sheet away.

There are so many variables at play here that this is really hard to work out how to do it safely.

There are lots of reasons why GF only has preset jobs in proofgrade, it’s not very practical with non-pg materials. Best case problem in this case: your cut doesn’t work. Worst case? You burn your house down because you predefined “yeah cut” but your material settings were really wrong.

Incidentally I have always thought this is why the default power is 1 and default speed is max. They’re the “least dangerous” settings.

If you’re thinking “psht whatever Dave this can’t be that hard”, try to come up with standard nomenclature for engraving settings… it’s difficult, lots of options.