Ability to specify starting coordinates?

Hello fellow 'forgers. Would anyone else find it useful to be able to specify starting XY coordinates for a job? I’m not sure if this is planned for already or not. I think the “drag-and-drop” positioning shown in the demo vids is excellent, but that doesn’t look very reproducible if I want to produce either: a) multiple identically positioned engraves over time, or b) multiple engraves on different items with a relative position reference.

I’m a laser newbie so I’m not sure how this is implemented in other lasers, but basically I’d like to be able to say, “hey glowforge, take this 8x10” jpg (or pdf or svg or whatever, I would imagine some scaling factors would need to be taken into account) and start with the lower left corner at position X,Y on the bed."

2 Likes

many programs like this will let you use last starting position. I know you can basically scan something thats under the camera and remove that item and replace it with something else to cut, which Im assuming you can continuously do using the same exact location. Would this solve your issue?

1 Like

Hmmm. Thanks for the suggestion. That could possibly work, though I had envisioned the “take a picture with lid camera then cut something else” function as being more applicable to something like tool cutouts in foam. Or a million other things. But being able to specify exact start XY would better allow you to position your image irrespective of the object dimensions. I guess it’s like using the dynamic click-and-drag resize in SketchUp to size an object vs typing in the exact dimensions you want it to be. One is “close enough” and subject to your different mouse movements each time you do it, the other is exactly the same every time.

1 Like