Affinity Designer Text Export Issues for Score

Hi all,

I am hoping you might be able to help out. I have done some searches and tried to find any videos that may assist in the problem I am having.

I am using Affinity Designer to do my design work and import into GFUI with either SVG or PDF format. I created one file that is my set of letters for a phrase to put onto a sign. I then created a second file with the same phrase and the text formatted to be used as scoring on the sign so it will help with placement.

I have converted the text to curves and it mostly works except for a few letters that are having issues. Letters such as ‘o’ and ‘e’ do not work with SVG properly imported into the GFUI. I converted to curves I removed all the fill on the letters and just have an outline.

When I converted to a PDF it solved the issues of those letters but the ‘s’ is filled and has a line as seen in the attached screenshot.

Any help would be appreciated. I am a newbie and have only used the machine less than a dozen times so I am still trying to get past some of the annoying format nuances.

Thanks!
Jim

1 Like

Hi. I use AD, also. Unless you’re doing it for a reason which I don’t understand, you shouldn’ have to convert your text to curves. Just make sure the little box is checked on your export section.

Also, is there a reason why you’re making two separate files for your engrave and scores? You should be able to have both of them in the same file, just in different colors. Then, in the GFUI, set the score to your choice, and set the engrave to ignore. When you’re finished scoring, set that one to ignore and set engrave to your choice.

3 Likes

If you set the layer to sore and not fill the issues with the “S” would go away, but there are bigger issues with how the file was created as those letters that fill the way you like have two lines and score would get both of them looking not so good.