Aloha Comes From the Heart

Coming up on the one year anniversary of my mom’s passing, and it’s made me think about a lot of things; one of which are these keychains I made.

Nearly a year ago I started playing with inlay projects, nothing too exciting, just keychains. After my mom passed away, my Glowforge ended up having issues and I was stuck without being able to make anything for weeks (the GF team was slacking a little around then). When I got my new machine, I picked the projects back up and started to make new things, but my heart was still hurting, so I was less enthusiastic about most of my daily functions.

My grandma had asked my siblings and I to wear a black ribbon everyday to remember my mom, which turned out to be incredibly hard. Not hard because I had to remember to wear it, but because when you wear something like that, people become curious why it is that it’s there. So everyday, a few times a day people would ask, and again I would have to remember why it was I wore it, but I also had to say it out loud. Most people were uncomfortable after asking, a lot of people said the typical “sorry”, but a few showed honest compassion, and they were the ones who inspired me to make these.

Made from engraving out the aloha on both the wood and acrylic so that the acrylic doesn’t stand off of the wood too much. I slowed the laser down on both parts to get a decent depth, but this makes the acrylic leave a melted slag around the edges when cut, so I sand those down as well. These are actually my favorite thing I’ve designed and made, probably due to the emotional attachment, but also because white acrylic and cherry ply look really nice together.

Thanks for checking them out and if you read down to here, thanks for reading part of my story :ok_hand:t4:

42 Likes

Very nice hearts. Sorry for your loss.

3 Likes