Arduino Traffic Light

I saw this in my latest Arduino email…

As a traffic engineer I thought “ooh!” and eagerly clicked the link. Then I saw that it just cycles through the three LED lights and thought. “This is stupid”. But then I read this sentence: “Hello! My name is Matei. I’m eleven years old and this is my second project.” and I thought “Well, I guess I’m just a jerk.”

This is awesome that an 11 year old is starting into this world, and even more so that he wants to share his progress, and finally, really cool that Arduino would include his project in their email. Way to go Matei! Keep up the great work!

31 Likes

Cool, I’ve been sitting on an arduino kit I bought a year ago and haven’t made time to start playing with yet. Maybe it’s time.

4 Likes

I crash course my junior/senior level college students in programming with an Arduino and stoplights.

The system is fantastic, because you can start dirt simple (3 light cycle) and progress to complicated (proximity sensor, crosswalk signals with flashing warning and button triggers, timers, multiple intersection coordination…). But the whole way through that progression, everything is intuitive and familiar, allowing students to test variables in borrowed code by slipping in extreme values and immediately noticing the changes caused.

13 Likes

A few years ago I programmed an Arduino to receive a command from an in ground coil sensor and control a vintage railroad crossing signal. So now when someone comes up my 1600 ft driveway I hear a doorbell chime in the house and the railroad crossing signal flashes the standard train warning. Each new UPS driver stops just before getting to the house, unsure as how to proceed. If the Arduino ever fails I may have to hire the kid to reprogram it.

41 Likes

That is truly spectacular. I’ve been on the hunt for a full-size traffic signal vehicle head for a while. Don’t know what I’d do with it yet… but I want one!

4 Likes

Bet they love that! ROFL! :sweat_smile:

1 Like