Beech Engrave Settings?

Hey all,

I did a search through the forums but couldn’t find any settings for beech. A general Google search turned up even less :cry: I’m looking for some starting point for engraving beech plaques. Anyone worked with beech before on the GF?

EDIT:
For anyone interested, I ended up going with 1000 zooms and 100 pews for these results. The wood was 3/8 thick beech.

6 Likes

Given the hardness, I would look at the Proofgrade settings for Red Oak.

5 Likes

Alright, I’ll start there! :slight_smile: thanks!

I’m searching for Beech wood cutting & engraving settings as well but mine is 1/2". I’m still new at this so I’m a bit nervous since I have no idea how to tune the settings for non-PG materials yet.
You had to remove the crumb tray though I’m guessing right?

Those were engrave settings, and are pretty close to what all the Proofgrade engrave settings are.

You’re going to struggle to cut thru 1/2 wood of any type. It can be done, but the edges will not be clean.

2 Likes

If the wood is thicker than 0.47", yes you will. Sometimes 1/2" isn’t a 1/2", so probably, yes, you’ll need to remove the crumb tray.

1 Like

I have successfully engraved and cut (in one pass) 0.59" pine with the crumb tray in place, but cutting is VERY flamey and - as I stated above - you will struggle to get good results cutting anything 1/2 thick.

Contrary to comment above, engraving on 1/2" should not require removing the tray. That is within the specs of the machine. The pic above shows the engraving as well, which was perfectly fine, even though my material was 0.59" thick.

2 Likes

Keep in mind those settings are also pretty old, so the machine settings may have been updated since then. I doubt it, but it’s happened in the past and I haven’t been keeping up on all my old settings like I should be.