Biggest Photo Engrave I Have Done So Far

My biggest photo engraves to date… both are 11" x 16" and shown next to the original photos I took (I’m also a pro photographer) that were converted to black and white. Most of the backgrounds were removed and text added, by request of the customer. They each took about 1.5 hours on SD engrave, 1/8" PG Maple Plywood. The customer was VERY satisfied!!! I can’t wait to create a couple more just to show to people because the texture and quality are incredible!!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE this machine!!!

65 Likes

Wow! I’m looking to do that kind of work. So crisp!

2 Likes

Great detail on those! :grinning:

3 Likes

They look great!

3 Likes

Exquisite detail!

3 Likes

Wow, amazing! Well Done!

2 Likes

Great job on these! The font is so classy with the photos too!

2 Likes

Would you be willing to type up your steps for doing this? Thanks!

3 Likes

Great engrave

2 Likes

Yes - and your settings too please! Amazing results!

3 Likes

Ok, here is how I did it… it’s really simple.

1. Start with the best photo possible: well exposed, high resolution and as sharp as possible.
  2. In Photoshop, convert to black and white by decreasing the saturation to 0 or just converting to grayscale.
  3. Lighten the shadows and darken the highlights slightly (in Photoshop, it’s under “Image” then “Adjustments” then " Shadows/Highlights"). You don’t want any extreme dark or light areas.
  4. Mask away any background by using a soft brush at a large size around the image, creating a sort of vignette.
  5. Export as PNG.
  6. In Glowforge program, use SD Graphic setting - Material I used was PG Maple Plywood 1/8"

I think the key is having the best image possible to work with. I am a pro photographer, so I make sure everything I shoot is tack sharp and well exposed. I also shoot in RAW and process the RAW image in Photoshop, which gives you the best quality and options with post-processing.

I hope this helps!!

15 Likes

One suggestion.