Calling any makerspace teachers..I need advice

I am part of a homeschool group and would love to offer classes on learning to work with lasers. Since I am pretty much self taught, I’m curious as to how you teachers go about working with students on this subject. Obviously they will not be able to learn software in one night, but is anyone willing to give me some ideas on what I CAN teach to get them interested?

2 Likes

Not sure which ages you’re working with, but unless they are super young, they will likely surprise you. I worked with tweens/teens in a computer-based afterschool program where kids used technology to explore their passions. These kids were using professional tools like Photoshop, Premiere, etc., with very little training. If kids are interested, they will learn. They generally haven’t learned to be afraid of making a mistake, especially with software, and so they are more open than many adults about figuring something out.

I personally would start with having them do simple drawings, scan them in, and etch them on a tile. That’s an easy way to show them how cool the machine is. From there, maybe let them design a box on one of the online tools and then attach their name or a piece of clip art or a drawing to it. They can also draw in Gimp or whatever and etch onto a piece of wood. After that, start to show them the basics of whatever tool(s) you’re using and give them space to experiment. Show them some of your favorite projects to broaden their scope about possibilities and then have them brainstorm things of their own. And then it’s just a matter of supporting them (rather than “teaching them”) as they figure out how to make it work.

If it’s just a night, any one of the first few options is a good intro.

7 Likes

I once taught a group of 3rd graders to use pro-level GIS software to make maps. I told their teacher to show them the basics, then stand back and be amazed how far they’d go!