Can I engrave on high gloss finished hardwood?

Hi, I was given several different pieces of beautiful hardwood from a cabinet maker that all have a high gloss finish on them. They are all 3/4" thick, 12" x 3.5". Do I need to cover the gloss finish with tape or paper? Since they are 3/4" thick… it sounds like I need to take the crumb tray out (which I did to test and the lines were so thin and not deep). I am a newbie and so confused about the settings and measurements. I have been watching and reading a lot of tutorials, but I still need help. Help please.

1 Like

Did you did mean to open a support ticket with staff? I don’t think so because they can’t help with non-proofgrade material questions, but I’m double checking. If no, we can move the post to Everything Else, and folks here on the forum can give you a hand.

2 Likes

The quick answer is ~probably~
If you can find out what the gloss is, and what the hardwood is, you’ll have a better chance of getting to an answer quickly.

Yes you’ll have to remove the tray, and then raise the material so it’s within 1/2" of the lens. The lines being thin/not deep are a function of power and speed. Cut/Score lines are always thin - about the thickness of the laser beam (.008"?). Engrave lines can be fatter - depends on how fat you make them :-). Increased depth can be made with either higher power, or lower speed. Some hardwoods cut beautifully, others resist every attempt.

4 Likes

Thank you

Thank you. Your answer was very helpful. I’m going to print this out for reference.

It’s solid hardwood, right? Not something engineered?

1 Like

They are all solid wood. With a Poly Urathane finish. (I think)