Clock Dials pattern material?

I am trying to research the best material to use to attempt to get the patterns on watch/clock dials.

This is an example. I am very new to this, but I am not sure what would work, or if it is even possible.
Any thoughts or advice would be much appreciated.

Cheers,

Kelly

1 Like

i’m not exactly sure what you’re looking to do here. but if it helps at all, the dial texture like that on a watch is called a Guilloche.

5 Likes

That helps! I am learning these things. So I am looking to use the laser to make the Guilloche. I like that word…Guilloche…

The French terms are always so much nicer… in plain english, it’s “machine turning”. High end work includes enameling over top (Faberge is the best examples of this type of work).

Though GF can’t work with metals to get this pattern, but you should be able to replicate the designs (reasonably so) on the materials we can use safely (for ourselves & the GF).

What material do you think would work best with Glowforge to make the design?

I’d first try it on maple ply–not a fan of extensive etching on mdf (very messy), but is a a cheaper option to test it out. And acrylic would likely produce a really cool effect–especially edge lit, and may show the 3D engraving option off better!

There are other threads about using metals–you have to coat with something like Cermark (which is not cheap). Anodized aluminum may be a great option for this, too (but I’d first test/perfect the pattern on wood or acrylic).

Great thoughts. I will try the acrylic. I am expecting my machine in the next two weeks.

Thanks so much,

Kelly

As everyone else above has said, Guilloche or the Rose Engine is a specific type of lathe for cutting designs into metal dials.

As a watch tech myself, here is what I plan on experimenting with when my Pro and Filter arrive:
Mother Of Pearl
Anodized aluminum
Acrylic
wood of different types and thicknesses.