Confused about Draft Graphic settings and getting error messages

I have been trying to eliminate the noise on uploaded images (working through the tutorials in Gimp, Inkscape, etc…) I get them where they look quite clean, but when I upload them , they always upload as Draft Photo, and they still include a lot of extra grey. I have tried using the command keys (command, shift, up arrow) but it doesn’t seem to do anything. When I switch the settings to Draft Graphic, it looks much better, but then I get the warning message about the settings not being OK for medium maple plywood. I am a beginner and certainly don’t want to set fire to anything. I can’t find out why I can’t use the Draft Graphic setting on this material anywhere, so I would be quite grateful for any advice! I have added 3 pics - close up sections of the 3 files - the original Gimp file, the Draft photo setting showing the noise, and the Draft Graphic setting without all the noise.

Cleaned%20up%20elephant%20nose|634x500 Draft%20graphic Draft%20photoCleaned%20up%20elephant%20nose

1 Like

Probably just compression artifacts in the jpeg…if you have the option of saving it as a PNG file with a transparent background in GIMP, that should eliminate a lot of that noise.

If not, and you need to completely remove the background, there’s a video here that discusses doing that in GIMP

And just FYI…the warning that shows up in when you send a file to print in the Glowforge interface is just a reminder to check the settings. If you use the defaults, you won’t see that, but you should be able to acknowledge the warning and continue with the print.

2 Likes

Unless you are using the trace function, those keys won’t do anything.

1 Like