Cooling Alert AGAIN

PLEASE HELP me to understand! I have been in “cooling mode” for over (2) weeks. I have my machine in a 70 degree room AND while I am printing I run a fan. This is the second time this has happened. I don’t use my machine often. I haven’t even printed/sold a fraction of items to cover the cost of the unit. It has been about 6 months since I purchased the machine and I cut on average 1-2 jobs per month.

The first time the machine went into “cooling mode” I shut it off for about two weeks and came back and it it was no longer in cooling mode. This time I cut it off and it has been two weeks and customer support is sporadic in responses with “support“. Yesterday I get an email stating that “unfortunately I have to replace this $7000 machine due to corrosion“. Corrosion? I only cut acrylic and wood for the most part the wood was given to me by Glowforge in my initial purchase package. and I always use masking over the items. If corrosion does exist in the machine, Can someone please explain to me how it is that my machine being stuck in “cooling “ is a direct result of corrosion? And /or how the corrosion sent the machine into “cooling “ mode?

1 Like

The temperature sensor is very sensitive to corrosion and this will give very out of range temp readings. I believe they are using a thermistor to measure temps, which uses resistance to determine temp. Corrosion can change the resistance value and send things out of whack.

Did they see something in the pics that led them to conclude it was corrosion? This is generally from cutting materials that off gas some kind of bad stuff that leads to corrosion in the right conditions (example, pvc-based products, etc.).

1 Like