Copyright reminder - if someone else made it - you shouldn't copy it

There are lots of fine folks out there who create art, photographs, music, games, words, pictures, sculptures, graphic designs and designs for things.

If someone creates a fresh piece of work - then they own the copyright to it - no ifs, no buts.

In nearly all countries - USA, UK and EU included - you do not have the right to copy something - even if it is only for your personal use.

If you are one of above listed creators you already know how hard it is to make a living without people stealing your work.

If you are not normally creator - imagine someone stealing straight out of your pay packet. Might only be a few dollars, but every time you copy someone else’s work that is what you are doing.

I know this is boring and irritating and “what harm am I doing” - but I am a games designer, writer, photographer and I can tell you that when your work is stolen - it hurts - both mentally and financially.

So, if you like someones work then
(a) reach out to them and ask for permission, offer money - if it is just for your own use
(b) negotiate a licence if it is for multiple use or commercial use
© be inspired and create your own - but credit the inspiration

Rant over.

20 Likes

Designs for functional things are not covered by copyright. They are covered by patents and in the UK you can make patented items for your own use without permission.

3 Likes

That’s a bit of a grey area… Morally I would contend there’s still an individual at the end of that chain. Typicall corporates can afford the patent process - so you can’t copy - individuals can’t - so even if legally you can copy it - morally that’s still someone who did the work that you are nicking.

2 Likes