Delivery Date :(

I just checked the expected shipping date and found it is now January 30, 2018…may as well be 2075. What the…
What happened to all pre-orders being shipped in October? I am a police officer and I must say this is starting to seem a little bit like theft. To top it off, I have been fighting off cancer for 5 years and now I am starting to get concerned I won’t see this mystical item before I die. Does anyone know of an alternative to Glowforge? I am sure there are other devices out there - they may be more expensive but I venture to say they will deliver when they promise to do so! (%!@#%^&( and other symbols that I am too upset to think of right now!

2 Likes

I’m guessing since you know your estimated shipping date, you’ve read the October update? If not, that’s probably a good place to start. As for alternatives, I think that largely depends on what it is, specifically, you’d like an alternative for. There are lots of other similarly powered lasers available and theyre all generally capable of the same thing.

But if you want an alternative for all the other things glowforge advertised, I’m afraid you might be out of luck. I mean… even Glowforge hasn’t yet delivered all the things Glowforge promised. If you want an alternative with the trace feature and the pass through slot and super easy software and no mirror alignment and whatever else, I dont think there are any other options.

Which I think is probably why, ultimately, there are so many of us still waiting.

5 Likes

When I spoke with a rep from Dremel he told me they should have a Glowforge competitor by Summer 2018 (which I understand is a re-branded Muse). But from what I saw of the prototype it didn’t seem like Glowforge has much to worry about. Hardware looked decent enough. But I didn’t see the Glowforge magic anywhere… the software that makes Glowforge stand out from others. Maybe Dremel will catch up by then though. Who knows.

3 Likes