Elon's Electric Pickup

9 Likes

Imagine having the financial ability to design anything. Like what transportation might be if we dd not start with boxes pulled by horses.

5 Likes

It is great there are folks with great imagination and the money to support and drive (heh) engineering & technology forward without worry (or caring about) how the stock market responds. Hooray.

2 Likes

It’s funny that bullet train streamlined designs have been around for many years. I know that air resistance as a function of speed is a different factor for slower vehicles. Nevertheless, it seems that the newer designs of trucks are moving closer and closer to optimal. Expensive fuel and battery conservation surely are going to keep pushing designs. I am not an engineer but when I see designs like this pickup, I start wondering about these things.

2 Likes

Bingo. At 200 Mph the atmosphere is like driving through syrup. You have to add 100 HP to go 5 MPH faster. The air resistance is there, that’s why cycle racers shave their legs.

(IMO) focus has been brought to electrifying transportation by Elon. He saw the time was right, kinda like Steve Jobs. The evolution of battery chemistry enjoys that stimulus, and Panasonic is on top of it. Every major manufacturer has an electric option now and may help save our species (and the biosphere) from the inevitable mistakes of our technological evolution. Elon’s patents are open for use. Daimler/Mercedes uses them.
“We are trying to create a model for sustainable transportation, if we lay intellectual land mines behind us we are defeating the purpose.” - Elon Musk

4 Likes

Well, also to make it easier to deal with cleaning up & healing from road rash…

(and NOT to prevent leg hairs from catching in the bike chain, as I read in a Dear Abby column once many years ago).

3 Likes

“Hey man, give those things a haircut for godsakes.”

1 Like