Engrave issue? Proofgrade vs manual. One operation vs Eight?

Why is it that if you upload a photo to engrave & the GF can read the proofgrade material it will engrave in one operation but if it cant read the QR code it loads the photo in as 8 different operations?..and is there a workaround or do I need to figure out speeds & settings for each layer of the photo of which in this case there are 8. Cheers.

…or have I made a mess of things?

This.

:slight_smile:

Kidding. The files should be interpreted exactly the same regardless of whether a Proofgrade material is detected.

Are you uploading a photo (JPG/PNG) or a SVG with raster images embedded into it?

2 Likes

LOL. :blush:

@jbmanning5. I am a total noob so am playing around getting to know the tool and the software involved (Inkscape for now). It saves as an .SVG so does that mean it has a raster embedded? I have engraved a few things now so thought I was getting the hang of it. This was my first photo though. It turned out way darker that I wanted, so dark I can hardly make out what it is and I know what it is :wink:
The photo was engraved in one operation & then it carried out some cuts on proofgrade material, but it cut through the QR code so next time it did not recognise it.
I edited another photo which had more contrast to start with but when I uploaded it the app requested 8 manual settings, I then re-loaded the previously engraved photo and it was now asking for 8 lots of manual settings?

SVG is good. And it should be embedded, so that’s good too.

Each photo will be interpreted as one operation. It sounds like you had just one photo.

As for the cuts, the Glowforge uses different stroke colors to determine different operations. So a blue stroke and a red stroke would both be interpreted as separate operations.

Did you by chance make the cuts different colors in Inkscape?