Engrave settings

So, I recently ran into an issue trying to print a box with engraved brush strokes on the top. For some reason it kept popping up with an error message each time I attempted to print. After some trial and error, It seemed to be having an issue with the brush stroke bit of the design. I then changed the engrave settings from ‘draft’ to ‘SD’ and it seemed to take.

Can someone please explain why this happened and the differences in the settings? Just something brief. I am new to GF and I’m just trying to figure out all of these settings!

Thanks so much

Without knowing which error message, and probably seeing the art, I don’t think most would even posit a guess, let alone an answer.

If it’s vector art it could be that it has too many nodes, or uses masks, or a number of other things - but WAY too many options. Honestly if you’re engraving often the best bet is to switch it from vector to bitmap, which also opens up 3D engraving :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Hi and welcome!

I agree with deirdrebeth and it’s really hard to say without seeing the art and the error. But vector brush strokes are notorious for having a TON of nodes and bogging things down, so that might be something to look at. As to why the SD setting worked when draft didn’t, I dunno. :woman_shrugging: If I had to make a wild guess, it had to do with how each setting is processed differently. But if your file was a vector, the thing that will likely fix the issue for you is converting the file it to a bitmap.

And FWIW, I’m impressed with you trying to work through the issue and narrowing it down to the brush strokes like you did. So hang in there, you’re doing great! :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

Hi @Tiffy - I’m sorry to hear you had a bit of a hang up, but am glad to hear you were able to work through it.