Engraving presets

Can anyone point me to where I can read the description of what the different presets for engraving are doing? I want to know what type of design each is designed for and what their functions are. For example, what happens when using a grayscale image when using each of the presets. Are most of them meant to be used with black and white only? I have tried searching through the forums, but could not find a comprehensive list of preset functions or definitions. I’m pretty new to the world of engraving so it’s confusing to me.

3 Likes

If you switch from a proof grade to manual the default proof grade settings will carry over.

These setting are based on Medium Draftboard

Draft Graphic - Use for black and white or cell shaded images
Speed: 1000
Power: Full
Grayscale: Vary Power
Min Power: 0
LPI:195

SD Graphic - Use for black and white or cell shaded images
LPI: 270

HD Graphic - Use for black and white or cell shaded images (essentially a slower & darker version of HD Photo)
Speed: 300
Power: 11
Grayscale: Convert to dots
LPI: 450

Draft Photo - Use for images with a range of tones
LPI: 169

HD Photo - Use for images with a range of tone
Speed: 500
Power: 11
LPI: 450

3D Engrave - Use for reliefs
Speed: 501
LPI: 340

Speed and Power work hand in hand. The amount of power the laser “pours” into the material controls the depth and darkness of the cut. It’s possible for a fast moving high power engrave to “pour” as much power into the material as a slow moving low power engrave.

Grayscale controls how the darkness is controlled. Convert to dots keeps the laser at one power level and turns it on and off to create a halftone pattern. Vary power changes the power level to create a range of depths and darknesses.

LPI (Lines Per Inch) indicate the resolution of the print. High LPI values give more detail but they are slower and darker.

20 Likes