Error about masks and too many steps

I’m really new to this and am having difficulty with various things. However, my current issue is an error message “we can’t do masks yet” I have read what others have asked and the replies. But, I am not getting it from a svg files that I want to cut. I’m getting this from text that I saved as a pdf. I only want to engrave - not cut. Any help? I don’t even know what a clip path is :frowning_face:

Welcome! It gets easier, I promise :smiley:

It would help if you could tell us what program you’re using to create the text and PDF. Would you be willing to post the file so we can take a look?

4 Likes

Thanks for the welcoming words, ekla. I’m just using some text from Word.
breaking bread.pdf (181.2 KB)

Paths are the trajectories that the laser follows, or can also define the outline of objects that you want to engrave. All objects need to be defined by complete paths.

A “clipping” or “masking” path is essentially an object that overlays another, in the design app. it can appear like parts are hidden (or “masked”, or “clipped”), but the machine can’t interpret that for you. You have to delete the masked/clipped portions so that you are left with a single, but complete, object.

Think of it as laying a piece of paper over a design. The paper might hide parts you don’t want to see, but to print on the GF, you need to actually cut away the hidden parts in your design app.

1 Like

(wrong:That is just a bitmap embedded in a PDF, with a lot of unnecessary junk causing the errors.)

I had previously been unable to break it down enough to see that it contained vector lettering, but Chris pointed out that it was so I dug deeper. Sorry. Excess junk still applies. :slight_smile:

You’d be a lot better off using a vector design app, but if you are stuck with Word, I suggest you turn off shadows, and save as a bitmap (jpg or png), not pdf.

2 Likes