Extra line

Weirdness… We’re keeping an eye on the N here…

Design in Illustrator:

What the app sees:

What gets printed:

Where the heck is that line coming from?!?!

Thanks!

Tom

3 Likes

Probably a stray node. Does it print it that way every time? Have you tried rasterizing the file?

7 Likes

Printed it twice. Same result.
I suppose I could rasterize it, but help me understand why that would be a good thing? I mean, the whole point of an svg is to be able to scale it. :slight_smile:
Is there a way I can try and find this “stray node?” I mean, if I just Ctrl+A, nothing gets highlighted at that spot. But, I’m SO not a an Illustrator expert.

I am not an AI expert, but there are many here that are. Share the file and I know someone will solve the riddle.

4 Likes

Because it would avoid exactly this problem. With a bitmap, what you see is what you get. Vectors are subject to a dozen known issues (e.g. stroke thickness, unclosed paths, overlapping objects, winding order, clip masks, etc.) and countless surprise rendering bugs.

4 Likes

Thanks for the advice so far. And, sure. I hope somebody can find this thing. It’s so odd to me!
Design1.ai (1.3 MB)

I took a look at this file in Outline Mode. There are numerous overlapping lines, open shapes, etc. Looking at the N, there are 2 parallel lines on each N. There are some strange things going on with the A as well.

7 Likes

Excellent detective work!

3 Likes

Thanks. I was aware of what you’re describing, but I still don’t see anything that would cause the line in the N to be engraved.

1 Like

So just for fun I removed this…
…and that appears to have resolved the issue. But I still don’t understand what that shape had to do with the other shape at all. I mean, the shape I deleted and the shape that printed aren’t really similar at all. Not the same size or shape. So I guess I’m happy for the result, but I still don’t understand how that process solved it.

1 Like