Geek Wedding Gifts

My wife’s cousin’s getting married on Sunday. So we made gifts for the happy couple. They’re both into all things geeky, but most of all Harry Potter and Game Of Thrones. So…

My very first box! (Not just on a laser, but ever.)
20170724_071507

20170724_071550
And this is my first attempt using laser foil! It’s hard to capture the awesomeness of the foil with a camera. It shines!

All of those photos were taken pre-polyurethane. They all shined up pretty nicely. Didn’t have time to take new photos. Last night was applying the cork to the bottoms. The box was sized-to-fit. The coasters sit ever-so-nicely in their caddy.

And, finally, a little GoT action…

72 Likes

People are gonna fight over the snitch…lol.
Those are all super awesome!! And great job on the box too! Did you cut the blanks? I like the design shape of the cutting board.

6 Likes

That all looks amazing.

How did you do the background colors (red, yellow, blue, green) on the house crests? Hand paint post engraving? Or is that some sort of infill?

3 Likes

Thanks so much! It was a surprising amount of work to manipulate the images to a point that made them suitable for the engrave I wanted. The Hogwarts one took 2 hours because it was pre-colored and I knew I wanted to color it myself, so I had to go in and carefully remove the coloring from the background, while leaving the design in place, and then adjusting the remaining coloring for good contrast, etc. WORTH IT.