Geocaching

Anyone design, build, customize any geocaches with their GF?

I have been geocaching for many years now and have a few fun and difficult hides out there. I plan to use the laser for some of them in the future.

Was wondering if anyone had any pics of some things they have done specifically around Geocaching.

8 Likes

I’ve never done geocaching, but have always wanted to try it.

1 Like

I had a merit badge for surveying and the first engineer related job I had one summer was interning with some surveyors.

Just last year I saw a guy walking around with a stick that had a black box on top. I was cooling my jets waiting on the wife so I engaged him and asked what he was doing, and was astonished when he said surveying.

Apparently, they set it on a known point in the morning for calibration, then trigger a readout where they are looking for a survey point around the city.
Technology has taken all the romance out of things like surveying. The math was a pain at times, but it always kept you truthful.

Kind of interesting that technology has taken something that use to be an occupation and made a fun challenge out of it.

Just out of curiosity, what do you hide?

6 Likes

I’ve etched anodized aluminum microcaches (pill fobs), I have been 'caching in a while, but have thought about making wood or acrylic challenge coin-like tokens as rewards, or even as travel bugs.

4 Likes

you should give it a go. I recommend finding a few of the larger and easy ones until you start to get the feel for it.

If you like little adventures, it can get quite addicting.

1 Like

My caches are more about the adventure. Either the puzzle to get there or the puzzle when you get on site.

At a minimum its a container to keep a log in that people can sign to prove they were there. Containers we have found vary from the size of an eraser to a small building.

2 Likes