GFUI seriously limits printable space

Hi everyone, not sure how to word the problem, perhaps just looking at the pics will spell it out. Bottom line, all of a sudden the GFUI will only print within a darkened space, about 1/3 the size of the medium (whiteboard, 0.125").

Same thing happens when I place wood or even the backside of the whiteboard (which is dark brown).

The GF worked just fine last time I fired it up. I’m pretty new to the GF, but this is a warranty replacement unit. Do any of them work properly?

So frustrated I don’t want to ever see or hear of Glowforge again…

Lower your speed for the engrave. The latest update now puts 4000 as the default speed. At that setting, the printable area is significantly reduced.

6 Likes

Will do.
Attempting now.

Thank you so much for the quick reply.

Thank you very much, dklgood. That was it

2 Likes

I’m glad that worked, but I’m sorry your original post seemed to be full of frustration. The forum has many very knowledgeable, talented and helpful people available to help you out if you get stuck with a design or a print. Seek assistance before you get discouraged, and use the search function for guidance with a specific issue. Lots of info here. Good luck.

7 Likes

If you have a bitmap image, you can use the engrave in margins feature to expand the margins as well.

Glad @dklgood able to help you out–but please do read the Announcements–there’s more explaination there as to the recent speed changes and their effects on the actual printable space. And of course keep checking for them as many do come out that may or may not impact your user experience!!

2 Likes