GIMP for photo engrave to tile

Been trying for several days with no luck. Followed a tutorial found in the community but still didn’t work. Must be an old file as program is now different than what screen is asking me to do. I am looking for direction for dummies tutorial in order to change a photo to a clear b/w print to tile. I have a nice lady on FB change a pict for me in about a minute but wouldn’t tell me how to do it. Her came out looking kinda cartoonish With what looks like a bunch of boxes with dots & lots of detail where mine comes out either a screen of dots or a smooth version of pict. I have no graphics or design background. Very new to all this. Thanks in advance!

I don’t use Gimp, but…have you tried this tutorial?

2 Likes

That is the one I followed & didn’t get the cartoon look with details that I should be getting. Think the tutorial is outdated for today’s version. Says to click on certain things when they are not there anymore.

There is a basic “Nature of the Universe” problem in that for every thing you can do with a program there needs to be a widget to do it. The more powerful the program the more things you can do and the more widgets you have to understand to use them. Gimp is very powerful so there is a lot to know. I also use another program that is not as powerful but is therefore very much faster so that I can bring it up , do what I need and be done before a program like Gimp can even come up.

That program is called Irfanview. Much of Gimp uses masks, Irfanview does not have those, but if you want to make color be grayscale, raise or lower contrast etc on the whole image Irfanview gets it done. Even so you still need to build a skill set for anything you wish to accomplish, and the more you learn the more and better you can do what you wish. Some photos work without much manipulation, some are all but impossible.