Glowforge Application Programming Interface (API)

I’m a software developer interested in the programming interfaces available on Glowforge. I’m a long-time forum lurker, but first time poster, and proud soon-to-be Glowforge Basic owner. Can’t wait for day 16 to ship!

I’m excited to see how the web-based interface and server infrastructure allows GF to optimize image processing and tool path creation! The architecture is certainly unique, and is a good choice for the hardware concerned in GF.

I’m hoping to do some more… technical work with my GF. I write system code for quadcopter drones with image processing the camera feed being a particular goal, recognizing people, terrain, good and bad landing zones, etc… I’d like to use similar techniques to do material recognition and categorization in the GF cabinet.

What APIs are used internally to the GF firmware for communicating camera images to the web service? On the other side, how are the tool paths communicated to the cutter hardware? I’d love to get into the nuts and bolts of the software in GF!

@dan we met briefly at CES 2015 and talked about the topic a bit. Mind if I pick the brain of one of your software guys?

6 Likes

Hi Matt, welcome!

Hehe, so would the company’s competition :face_with_raised_eyebrow:

Regarding questions of what’s going on behind the scenes, Dan has replied " It took our physicists a long time to make that work, and I don’t want to deprive scientists working elsewhere the joy of discovery." :rofl:

7 Likes

I see.

This is another reason i’m looking forward to everyone having received a forge. There are definitely other areas beyond production that need time and money dedicated to them, and once the pressure to ship is lessened I hope to see an epic butt load of updates to the software.

Beyond that I don’t recall an API ever being mentioned here, so I wouldn’t count on seeing anything for probably a year+ given all the other ideas in there that would affect more people.

3 Likes