Glowforge can it save lives

Hey check this out …

News.stanford.edu/2017/01/10/whirligig-toy-bioengineers-develop-20-cent-hand-powered-blood-centrifuge/
It’s a mini microscope that can help diagnose diseases. Coupled with the string centerfuge doctors can diagnose malaria. The ability to be carried in a backpack means that remote places can get quick diagnoses saving lives.
It all cost about a dollar. The design is Taylor made for a tool like the Glowforge.
What you think?

26 Likes

That is awesome!!! thanks for sharing!

2 Likes

These humanitarian applications are near and dear to my heart. Foldscope is one of the few Kickstarters I’ve supported, donating a school pack to a local school in a high poverty area. The design (see the paper in PLOS:1) is very laser-friendly, but I haven’t seen explicit licensing language yet.

I’ve been working with e-NABLE for a couple of years, 3D printing assistive devices for folks with upper limb differences and find it very fulfilling. As these sort of open source programs flourish, I could see a GF-owner "volunteer corps’ arising as we discover (and develop!) ways that we can contribute.

Great post, thanks for sharing!

8 Likes

The hype on this is a bit high. I diagnose malaria not infrequently mostly with a “thick smear” which basically needs a microscope, simple centrifuge, glass slide and basic lab supplies. Pretty effective actually, and cheap (not counting labor). They make it sound like the cost of a cheap centrifuge is the gating item. You still need the rest of it so not sure you’d have a good high power microscope (the parasites are around 3 microns) with an oil lens without the rest of it.

5 Likes