Glowforge Image Software Basics Bootcamp?

Okay, I’ve drawn on a little hardwood plaque and had a Glowforge engrave it…but while I’m waiting for my unit, any suggestions on what app(s) I could begin practicing with for use with the Glowforge? I know it’s compatible with Adobe Illustrator, Inkscape, Adobe Photoshop, GIMP, Autodesk 360, & Sketchup…but I’ve never used ANY of them and don’t know where (and with which one) to begin. Any suggestions on Image Software and Tutorials for the Complete Neophyte?

6 Likes

Start with 2D software, e.g. Inkscape, and move to 3D, Fusion 360 for example. There are many pedagogic resources available for all the programs you mention… google is you friend
Google Inkscape search
Fusion 360

I’d look at a few of the results and decide which best suits your learning style/preference and go from there.
You have now commenced the slippery slide to “Glowforge 201”!
Good luck.

3 Likes

Complete beginner is a variable idea. I tossed together a Youtube walkthrough of a full project done in Inkscape and cut on my laser. I didn’t pre-plan at all so that I would make mistakes and show my own process in using the tools (when new to something, many people assume getting anything wrong at all is failure, when in fact those who are experienced get things wrong all the time)

I tried to aim for low level of knowledge, but at least a passing acquaintance with Inkscape already navigated.

If you have any questions, I would love to do more of the same. And answering a direct question means I won’t feel like I am pandering to the audience, since I am directly addressing an actual need, instead of guessing for myself at what point to start explaining step by step.

12 Likes

As @pomwah showed, a good google search will reveal lots of good info about most any SW package and as @jacobturner pointed out, you may be a complete beginner but you have some type of background. That will effect the path you take.