How might you fix this with a Glowforge?

I was sharing the Glowforge website with a friend, and she found a serious project for me. She is hoping I can help her restore some broken wooden ornamentation on 200+ year-old buffet/sideboard. It’s been in her family for at least 4 generations and was shipped to the US from Ireland.

In the close-up, there is some missing scrolling she’d like replaced. Scrolling is missing on both the right and left side panels.

Might anyone have advice for how I should proceed on this project? I am completely new to lasers and have not yet learned to use 2D or 3D software programs. I downloaded Fusion 360 and am thinking about learning Illustrator. Maybe I should try to trace the missing piece from another panel?

Any advice folks can send my way will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

1 Like

If you can take a good photo from a good panel with a telephoto lens, the rest will be easy in most apps.
How is the piece set into the door?

1 Like

Tracing the missing piece from a good panel is probably the way to go, assuming the scrolling is the same on both panels.

I would start by scanning or photographing the good panel, then use Illustrator or Inkscape to make a 2D path that outlines the missing section and cut it with the GF.

You will need to take some care when photographing the existing panel to make sure your lens isn’t distorting the pattern, i.e. if you zoom out too far you’ll get a fish-eye effect and the photo won’t actually match the pattern.

You should probably talk to an experienced wood worker (or ask in a wood working forum) about the best way to clean up the edges of the damaged scrolling prior to joining your new piece on. How much of the existing scrolling you trim back will obviously affect the shape of your replacement piece.