I need help with a name sign I'm "trying" to generate

I am totally new to the Glowforge and I thought maybe I could reach out to the pros for some help with a design I am “trying” to make. I am using inkscape as my svg generator, and I must say, it is not very friendly. I work at a school, and they want me to learn to use the glowforge with a free software before we sign up for a program that might be a little easier.

Anyway, I’m attaching the image of what I want it to look like when done, but I don’t know the order of steps to get it done. For example, after entering my text and my object, do I get it all the size I want and then union it? I am wanting the letters and the cowgirl hat to be cute out and glued on a solid background that is the shape of everything. I hope what I’m asking makes sense, lol I don’t know all of the terms that people that actually know what they’re doing use. I am attaching what I want to finished product to look like, and what I have done so far. As you can see, there are white spots in my background outline and that should be solid. I just want to cut the background out, and glue the other pieces onto the background piece after I paint them. I would sure appreciate some suggestions because I am lost on how to get this work out for me. I only have until Friday to get it all done for one of my students.
brooklyn name board

8 Likes

You’re like 70% there!
I’m not on my computer, so if you or somebody else hasn’t figured this out be the time I’m home I’ll make you a walk through.

The remaining steps are:

1. Make all the interior lines a different colour than the exterior ones.
  2. Remove the lines from around the blue areas.
  3. Make a copy of everything and create and outline, then enlarge the outline to the size you want.

You’re so close!

8 Likes