I need help with AI and getting things to join

accd%20flowerlogo%20done%20with%20writing
I am new to ai but have put in the time to do many tutorials. I am trying to create my new logo and it is killing me. Everything looks fine on screen until I upload it to Glowforge. I want the writing separate so for small items I can delete it. I want the rest of the design to stay as a group but it won’t. I have tried to create it differently with cuts an so on bu again newbie and I must be missing something. If I try to scale I have to make sure I have both pieces and I’m trying to do several at a time.
I would love it if someone could fix this for me but more importantly what’s my problem and what do I do to correct this? Thanks

1 Like

Are you 100% sure the 2 cut sections are exactly the same colour? Cuz colour is how GF splits things - also vector vs raster, but presumably that’s the same.

Did you change the text to outlines?

same color

I included my files if that helps. I don’t have a problem with the words.

Just checking here, you know if you cut the “CD” part you will end up with an hole or circle then the C and D as loose pieces. Is that what you are going for?

1 Like

The reason the flower head is coming up separate is those paths have both a stroke and fill, instead of just a stroke like the stem and leaves.

As @nancielaing mentioned, if you cut it as shown, you will end up with just a hole for the flower head. I imagine that’s not what you want.

1 Like

To keep your design together, put a bounding box or shape around it, something like this:

creative%20choice%20logo

When you’re in the GFUI, just “ignore” the bounding shape.

Also, you had overlapping lines between the C and D shapes in the flower, so I deleted the extras.

Finally, you’ll want “score” instead of cut (the GFUI will default to cut but you can change it).

See if that helps any. Good luck

2 Likes

I played with your logo. It depends on what you want engraved and what you want cut.