I want to cut a on 12" x 24" acrylic. Do i just put the material on top of the crumb tray?

I see that a piece this big is JUST slightly too big to fit in the crumbtray. I know the machine cant cut the entire sheet at once, but i just wanna not have to cut the acrylic before using the laser to fit it in.

I know theres the pass through slot, but that doesnt help me with width. Any tips / solutions you guys have? I am going to be cutting like 150 items, since im a teacher.

You cannot fit the 12" x 24" piece on the crumb tray. It will interfere with the rollers on the sides. You basically have two choices -

1. cut it down in size (either manually or use the passthrough slot if you have a pro) to make it 12" x 20".
  2. Use the passthrough slot and cut your items on 12" wide material.
4 Likes

@wilsonpf is right, I had an 1/8" piece of plywood up on the edge of the tray and it jammed the gantry causing it to go askew.

2 Likes

ah okay, it definitely can do 12" though?

i wouldn’t out anything thicker than 1/4 (3mm) up on the sides of the tray and only to the edge of it - any thicker or wider will most likely cause a jam or worse -

I buy a lot of acrylic in 12x24.
step one: to the garage.

I used to score and snap my acrylic - straight edge and razor… score both sides really well, and then I built a snapping jig (not quite a clamp but a 1/2" slot to hold it) under the workbench.

Now I use the table saw. Not entirely sure it’s better; but with a big stack it is faster.

Step 2: go to the Glowforge materials shelves.

I know its another step, and in some far distant future I’d like a Glowforge with a 12x24" bed.
For now, though, that’s the best workflow.

4 Likes

Front to back is not a problem…but if you do not want to potentially damage your machine, do not let the material extend over onto the right and left side plastic areas of the tray.
(Keep it on the gridded area of the tray.)

1 Like

1/4" is more like 6mm. 3mm is nominally 1/8".

1 Like