Image sliding in app when I click print?

I’ve been using the Glowforge for a few months and it had been working well. Starting last week I’ve started having an issue when lining up the image to cut in the app that I need some help with.

I load the design into the app.

Line it up on my work piece in the app.

Set my power settings and material.

Hit print.

Then when the preview loads it slides the image to the right by an 1/8th to a 1/4 of an inch.

If I continue the print then it did indeed slide on the work surface and mid cuts.

If I close the preview and readjust sometimes it stays where I want it to and sometimes I need to readjust it up to 4 times before it does.

Is there a setting off on my end? Was there a software update that messed it up a bit and I just need to wait it out for the next update? Has anyone else been having this issue? Any thoughts or help would be greatly appreciated.

If I read you correctly, this is a ‘normal’ behaviour for the Glowforge. Anything more than a displacement of 1/4" is more cause for concern.
The method that I have adopted is to place a piece of card on the honeycomb tray, do a light power cut , say maximum speed and power low, say 5. This will give you a location for your cut. Place your workpiece over the pattern and you have the cut where you want it.

Other methods for more critical positioning are out here in the forum.
John :upside_down_face:

1 Like

Okay, no idea if this is relevant but I noticed a weird thing tonight as I was trying to print a ruler.

The marks were all the same distance apart but randomly when I reopened the app some of them no longer lined up with the rulers on the app UI (Mac, latest Chrome). So it was like some of them were 1" and some of them were >1" despite being the same distance. Reopened the app and it wasn’t that way anymore. Dinner and night routine here, and I’ll have about an hour to run some tests later.