Images not maintaining same proportions when uploading to app

I am new to the glowforge machine. I have been learning illustrator and have watched a few tutorials and feel like I’m getting the hang of it. But even after following a tip of using a 12x20 art board to maintain proportions, I’m still having a problem maintaining my measurements when I upload my files to the app. I make earrings and need consistency across the board. It’s a pain resizing in the app and :crossed_fingers:t3: Hoping it works. Any suggestions?

I believe that’s caused by the “responsive” option being checked. Try disabling it.

2 Likes

While this could be an issue for some, it’s never caused mine to be resized. Here is what my save options look like:

I am curious to know if following efly’s advice works for you, though! If it doesn’t work, maybe elaborate on how much of a difference there is in your original artwork and the uploaded version. I know I was having issues before changing the “decimal places” option while saving, since it defaults to 1 point, and that would resize the artwork automatically without me meaning to.

1 Like

Thank you! I will try it.

Are you uploading as SVG?
PDF or the copy/paste method from AI generally do not have any size discrepancy issues.

1 Like

I’m having the same issue. Another user mentioned something about the artboard being larger that the x axis constraint. Not really sure what that meant but thought it might have something to do with the user interface printable surface. I was working with an 11x17 artboard.

Make your artboard 20x12.

1 Like

proper ratio is 0.6… 11x17 is 0.65 (0.647something to be more precise).

1 Like

You want a 20x12 artboard but can’t do a design that’s larger than 10.975 x 19.5. The 20x12 just preserves the size & position of the design, it doesn’t determine the physical limits of the design. Even those measurements (10.975x19.5) are only good for cuts - engraves are smaller.

1 Like

I will try it and let you know!