Inconsistencies with Proofgrade depth!

I’m finding that the proofgrade is now thicker which is causing major problems. I’ve noticed this with the medium maple plywood.
I was making the wine carriers from the catalog and used two different pieces of maple ply for tge wood sections. The first fit perfectly. Tge second I had to force into place resulting in the wood snapping and a crack in the acrylic.
I measured both pieces , one being 0.124 in, the second 0.134.
So why all of a sudden is there a change? I’m finding that all of the maple I recently purchased is this way.
How can we make designs with these inconsistencies?
Is anyone else having these problems?

2 Likes

I have no experience with PG but sheet materials in general don’t have good enough tolerance for slot and tab construction. It needs to be measured and the design tweaked each time. Of course the GF is advertised as doing this automatically but it doesn’t yet.

1. Precision within a kerf
    The laser works by removing a hairsbreadth of material, called the kerf. Glowforge knows this and compensates, so if you draw two puzzle pieces, they’ll fit. Even better, the Glowforge can measure the material thickness so 3D objects slide together perfectly.
4 Likes

Sorry, I disagree with that.
If I’m using their design and there material, they should work together.

2 Likes

It should because they have sold you the design, the machine and the material but unless they can source super accurate sheets, in practice it won’t until they implement revolutionary feature number 9.

1 Like

I think the fall back word will be “beta” but yes, proofgrade should be the same thickness from sheet to sheet. I have not run into this but I will be watching for it now.

1 Like

Within a hundredth of an inch, 0.25mm? Doesn’t wood change by that much with humidity?

4 Likes