Inconsistent Etch on Birch Plwd

This is my first time etching an image with tones other then black. As the engrave starts at the bottom things look ok, then it fades to almost nothing. If you look at the jpeg you can see the tone should be consistent. At some point, when there are darker values to etch the laser kicks back on. I used the SD Graphic setting. I tried HD, but it said the file was too big, which was surprising because it’s only about 5x13. So these are my issues. Any thoughts on how I can get a cleaner, more consistent engrave? Thanks.

Attached is a picture of the two engraves I attempted on non proofgrade birch plywood. The second image is one of the digital files I wanted to engrave.!

!

2 Likes

The file too big aspect on the HD engrave is more that it will take longer than ~3.5ish hours to finish, which is the current max run time the onboard storage can handle.

At the lower end of the power spectrum, everything is very sensitive to every detail. How clean your optics are, any warp/twist/deformity in the wood, any discrepancy in the surface, etc.

Are you using masking? That can play a huge factor as well.

2 Likes

Nope, no masking. Each etching was done on different sides of the same piece of wood, so I was surprised to see such a similar location of the faded section.

1 Like

I wonder if the piece of wood itself had anything to do with it? Graining or a dense glue spot or something? (It’s not a normal result.)

2 Likes

I don’t think so. The plywood was pretty flat, and the pass is so light it never reached any glue, and there’s no obvious grain change, but I suppose that option is possible.

Don’t know if this applies but did you let it fully load in the preview before pushing the start button?

yeah, fully loaded before pressing start.

Very strange … Cool engrave if you can figure it out. Maybe take a slice of it for some testing?