Inkscape Image is uploading multiple layers

Hi!! I am an extreme newbie and only received my glowforge about 2 weeks ago. I’ve done a couple projects and am currently doing a Pokemon memory game for my son. I found all the images and put them in inkscape, traced bitmap, removed background, and then saved the svg. When I upload the image onto the glowforge it is showing 5 or 6 of the image on the side however only 1 image is popping up for me to move around. I found that I can ignore the layers or multiple copies however it is slowing down my entire system.

I am assuming I am missing a step in inkscape but I can’t find anything online or youtube to either compress the layers into 1 image or find out what is causing the multiples.

If anyone knows what to do to fix this it would be greatly appreciated!!!
Thanks Everyone!!

1 Like

Try Gimp. There are many ways to do a mask in Gimp and any mask can be made a path, and the paths can be exported as an SVG.

1 Like

i did download the gimp app just now but honestly not understanding how to use it or what to do when i open my svg into that program

1 Like

You do not open the SVG in Gimp. You load the raster image (png or jpg) If I load a jpg it will be very dirty from the compression and I usually use Color > Brightness Contrast to get the best edges,