Inlay Advice

Can someone give me some tips or techniques or point me to a tutorial on the best way to perform an inlay on the GF. I want to cut out my veneer and then engrave the recipient wood to the proper depth and shape to accept the inlay piece so the end result will be relatively flush.

2 Likes

Well, I’m not an expert, but I’ll tell you where I would start. First off you are going to have to do some testing of your materials. You will need to test what the kerf is on your inlay cutouts so you can compensate, and then run a few tests till you get your engrave where you need it. Unfortunately there’s not a real shortcut for that king of project. I do know you want to take the time to make sure you compensate for the kerf, or you won’t get the fit you want. Good luck! hope it turns out great.

5 Likes

Definitely do some depth testing with the engraves, it varies quite a bit based on material.

You can use the stick on the calipers to get a fairly good idea of the depth of the holes, and then increase the number of passes or slow down the engrave and increase the LPI. :slightly_smiling_face:

5 Likes

So I assume I would put the veneer in the GF, put the pattern on top of it and cut it out then put the receiving wood in the GF, overlay the same pattern but this time take into account kerf and engrave to the proper depth. Have I got it about right?.

1 Like

I created the pattern in Illustrator for both the veneer and the receiving plywood and made adjustments before hand.

You’re going to need to expand the holes for the receiving wood a little more than you expect, or plan to clean out the engraves with a pick - the engraves require more adjustment than just for kerf…they tend to have a slight buildup on one side from the resins released from the burning.

6 Likes

Would doing a score line around the engrave help with this? I haven’t tackled real inlay work yet.

1 Like

It might…I haven’t tried it.