Is this what I'm supposed to see

. This is my first time using 3D engrave. The finished piece is supposed to have alternating hills and valleys, and I see that in the setup and on the side board, but in the “ready to print” window I see this solid block… Is that what it’s supposed to look like?

Yup.

The entire area to be engraved should be a solid color.

I know if text you wanted engraved shows up like that, it will not work. Not sure about images.

Maybe others will know more.

Brian

I will say that if you ever have doubt, do a test run on some scrap/cheap materials. If I have any doubt, I tend to crop down whatever I am trying to do and make a test file that is just a small corner of my final piece to preview the end result first.

It saves materials (by not running a job with the wrong settings) and more importantly, saves time. My tests tend to run a couple of minutes, as opposed to something like a 2 hour larger engrave that just isn’t quite right at the end. It’s definitely worth doing a couple of small tests on big projects.

2 Likes

Thanks! That’s what I’d figured/hoped but like others have said I didn’t want to spend an hour on a print that wont end up working. If it works right my Calculus classes are about to get some great parametric surfaces!

1 Like

The forum hereby demands pictures of this awesome parametric goodness!

plot This is the test file. Heightmap rendered in mathematica, of f(x,y)=sin(x)+sin(y). “Low resolution” contour plot just to see how things go. I will post a picture of the finished result ASAP

2 Likes

I guess I’ll dissent. I don’t think you should be seeing that. You should see something that what will somewhat represent your finished engrave and that’s not it.

Are you uploading a raster? A raster embedded in a vector? Or a straight vector file?

1 Like