Just Got My GF

I just got my GF and couldn’t wait to start. I’m totally new to Inkscape and have a bunch of learning to do. I wanted to make a birthday gift for my niece, so I tried a cutting board and used the same design on a tag that I intend to hang on a bottle of wine. My circle is not totally lined up, but I’m not unhappy with the results considering they were my first cuts on my own.

24 Likes

Not lined up in what way? At first glance, it looks pretty well aligned?

2 Likes

The words aren’t completely lined up between the two score lines. If you look at the “before us”-it’s almost touching the line but in the other side “between us” is perfectly centered between the lines. I just should have shifted the words a bit I think.

3 Likes

Oh yeah I see that. When using the text along path feature of Inkscape, sometimes its necessary to tweak the settings to get the correct amount of relief.

Also if you aren’t too familiar with the role of the shift modifier when resizing, it keeps whatever you’re scaling centered on its rotation point. So you can always snap your wording’s rotation point to the center of a circle and scale it. That’s fraught though, you’re usually better off aligning the text carefully with the correct path or offset and then deleting or ignoring the path that you don’t need.

5 Likes

And yeah you’re right, I think you shifted it all down and to the left slightly. Alignment tools can fix that too.

3 Likes

Very nice job for your first project on your Glowforge.

4 Likes

Thanks-good info! So much to learn. :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

Thanks!

2 Likes

Ah… just lay the cheese slices over that part, nobody will notice!!

8 Likes

You may want to try the free program cadworx it is great along with tinkercad.com

They are fun and useful programs.

Deb

3 Likes

Thanks! I’ll check them out.

2 Likes

Nice work! Welcome to the playground!

2 Likes