Laser Bed Tray(s) and Bed Depth

Would this RackStar Laser System, or anything like it, be helpful or more of a hindrance with the GF? From what it looks like to me, there isn’t much room with the tray at the bottom removed but I figured it would be worth asking. Two years ago I picked up woodturning and now make pens and other items like wood stemmed wine glasses and was wondering if I’d be able to engrave them with the GF.

I know the “Maximum thickness of material with tray removed: 1.5″ (38mm)” but (and please forgive me I’m new to anything laser) does this mean that from the laser bed to the safe working area of the laser that there is only 1.5"? For example if I put an item that is 2" deep in the bed with the tray removed, could it not be engraved?

I want to make sure I plan for things I can do down the road and not the other way around. Thanks for any help in advance.

8 Likes

There’s a few questions in here and I’ll try to tackle them each. Please let me know if I misunderstood.

First, we can’t recommend a third party insert; it could cause all sorts of havoc.

Second, wine glasses are probably too tall to engrave, even on their side.

Third, the engravable area is 0"-0.5" from the top of the tray. That means if you remove the tray, the part you engrave still needs to be where the top of the tray used to be.

If the black rectangle is the 1.5" tall tray, then you can engrave the green arrow amount. If you remove the tray, you can’t engrave the blue arrow amount, but you can put something (like a 1.75" spice jar) in there and engrave the top of it.

EDIT: Yes, that means you can engrave 2" thick material, not 1.5" like it says in the specs. Two inches for everyone!

29 Likes

That explains everything just fine @dan. Thanks for responding so quick, and with a diagram too. I also notice you’re up pretty late. I hope all is well.

2 Likes

That’s actually a tiny bit more thickness than I realized. Great!

5 Likes