Laser Engraving in Ancient Greece?

This is a fascinating story, the piece it is talking about is shown about half-way down.

Anyone feel like trying to engrave an agate in response?

21 Likes

lol, saw it this afternoon and already tucked it into the Artsy folder.
Looks pretty detailed

2 Likes

For something hand-carved with bronze tools it appears almost miraculous

5 Likes

Wow. An archeologist’s dream. And they are not done with the excavation and cleaning–imagine what else could be in there.

Thanks for the link!

2 Likes

That is extraordinary. What astounds me is the detail in the muscles of the Human body. I have 30+ years experience with crafting precious metal and gems into jewelry with the cutting power of diamond and modern tools. Lapidary is among those skills and I know I couldn’t come close to this level.

In terms of the wonder this inspires, it’s on the level of the Antikythera mechanism.

10 Likes

That was the first thing I thought of, too.

1 Like

I’d give that a like, but i’m exhausted in supply. :+1:

Edit; because there is too much going on here now and not enough likes @dan

4 Likes

How little we know, and how odd we give our ancestors so little credit for being driven by the same imagination that drives us.

John

9 Likes

You said it much better than I could. I tend to think of our ancestors as people who were only concerned about how to keep themselves and their families alive for another day in a world that was usually harsh and unforgiving. Then I see something like this and it reminds me that they loved beauty as much as we do – maybe more for the very reason that life was so much harder then.

5 Likes

And they weren’t distracted by TV :grinning:

7 Likes

Would reply to this, but currently watching a movie while surfing the Internet…

7 Likes

Wow!

1 Like

What a thing of beauty and aww. Just had to do it.