Laser tube full of fluid

Laser newbie here. I got my machine about two months ago. Tonight while doing a print I heard a slight pop sound and the laser tube now appears to be full of fluid. I turned the machine off and have been too scared to do anything else. I have a message in to support but thought I’d come here also. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

(I took a video because you can’t really tell unless it’s moving.)

It’s supposed to be full of fluid. It’s coolant. You’re good to go!

8 Likes

That does not look right. It looks like the coolant is inside of the outer tube it is supposed to be in the inner tube.

No, the inner tube is the CO2 laser, the outer jacket is to cool it and should be full of coolant fluid.

2 Likes

There is three parts of the tube center tube laser second tube coolant. third outer jacket. She has water in the outer jacket it looks like

1 Like

When the machine is new there are bubbles in the outer tube that purge when it is powered up - There is coolant in the outer tube.

1 Like

If you can’t see the coolant that is a good thing. If you have been running it and can see bubbles in the tube that is not a good thing. That means the tube is sucking air some place. Looking at the video, that is a lot of air.

You need to email that video to support and they will likely replace it with a refurbished machine for free as I assume it is still under warranty.

3 Likes

It’s hard for me to tell from the video. Maybe the problem is that it’s NOT full of liquid. I don’t notice the liquid in mine. I think if you’re noticing, it’s possible that the liquid is too low?

4 Likes

That would be my guess. The way it’s sloshing around half empty doesn’t look right at all.

I don’t think any of us can help with this one, though. Leaving it off until hearing back from support is the right answer. It’s possible there’s nothing wrong with it, but I wouldn’t take that chance.

4 Likes