Laser VERY bright

So, because Glowforge is out-of-stock on everything I need, I have ordered laser-grade acrylic sheets elsewhere. However, on some of the stock when cutting, the laser is VERY bright. I wonder if I need to change the settings, and if so what that would be… (I’m new to this wonderful world of lasers!!! :smiley:)

3 Likes

I usually just try to use the Proofgrade settings on similar material. If it doesn’t work, I make minor adjustments and test until it does work. (But, most of the time, the original settings work just fine.)

I think testing is key when using non-Proofgrade materials.

4 Likes

Normally I just use the matching proofgrade setting too. However, with acrylic you can get nasty “chipping” where it is reflected off the honeycomb crumb tray, so it might be worth experimenting to make sure you are only just cutting through on acrylic.

Or, do what I do which is raise the acrylic off the crumb tray with a few carefully placed scraps

1 Like

I put a sheet of paper under acrylic to avoid chipping. Generally, I’ve had no issues with PG settings.

6 Likes

The “chipping” is more properly called flashback. Searching the forum will find discussion after discussion about this concept, which is not just limited to acrylic.

https://community.glowforge.com/search?q=flashback

7 Likes

I am also seeing this very bright laser effect on a non-proofgrade 1/8" masked cast acrylic. The glowforge medium clear acrylic material settings cut it just fine, but the laser light is indeed extremely bright which makes also me think it is too much power?