Layered Photo Engraving Help/Ideas. Please!

Hello. I am new to engraving and have a neat idea, but I have not come across a single website or YouTube video to guide me. So I’m hoping I can get some guidance here.
I want to take a single photo and turn it into a 2 or 3 layer engraving. The subject (2 people) as the foreground/top layer. And the background scenery as recessed 2nd or 3rd layers.
The heart of the challenge is this: How do I edit the photo so only a section of the picture is etched , while the rest of the picture is ignored or ideally cut out.
First layer: I can lift the subjects (the 2 people) into a single picture, but then how cut that irregular outline.
2nd/3rd layer: How do I ignore the subjects and only etch the target regions?

I think making a layered etching, adding the physical depth to the piece, will look fantastic and I’ve seen it done with shapes and computer generated images, but I have never seen it done with a photo. I need someone with more experience to help me along.
Big Thanks for any help you can offer.

Eric

2 Likes

Hi Eric! Welcome to the forum.
Software can do what you’re looking for. Either Photoshop ($) or Gimp (free) .
I think having receding sections of the background engraved on lower layers is very clever. :sunglasses:

6 Likes

Thank you PTL!
I’ll look at Gimp right now.
Any additional tips you want/are willing to offer are welcomed.

4 Likes

The biggest help I can be to you right now is to point you to the magnifying glass at the top right. The search function will give you access to the accumulated years of experience this community has gathered.
Other than that, YouTube is your friend.