Letters in SVG

HI Guys
I am a real noob and still learning inkscape. are there any ready-to -use SVG files available for letters please? if not can anyone point me to a good step by step tutorial on how to create letters please?

Thanks in advance

Linsey

You can use inkscape to write anything you like using the text tool. When youā€™ve got it sized and positioned how you want it, use the ā€œobject to pathā€ menu option, which will convert it to a group of path objects.

If this all reads like random words, Iā€™m afraid thereā€™s a bit of a learning curve in general. Iā€™d start with the tutorials on the forum.

Further reading: search forum for ā€œtext pathsā€.

https://community.glowforge.com/search?context=topic&context_id=23760&q=Text%20paths&skip_context=true

6 Likes

Thankyou ill try that

If you want to cut them out and the typeface has overlapping letters (cursive scripts, for example), youā€™ll need to combine the paths together. I donā€™t know Inkscape, but in Illustrator itā€™s part of the pathfinder menu.

1 Like

I wouldnā€™t mind throwing one together for you. What type of font are you looking for?

I just learned how to do that a few days ago. After you convert it to path you select all your letters and go to ā€˜Pathā€™ and ā€˜Unionā€™ and itā€™ll print as a single stroke instead of several.

2 Likes

Alphabet

Here is one. Itā€™s set up for doing inlays. Red is cut and then convert blue to engrave in the GFUI for placing the letters.

I just got to make a video how to on this for you. Here are two that treat it.

6 Likes

Excellent! This should go in the matrix. @jules?

How does the Prego commercial go? ā€œItā€™s in there!ā€ :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

I think you have to ungroup the letter paths before you try to union them, yes? I think the path commands only work when paths are selected.

1 Like