Looking for a secret to photos

I get asked to do photos all the time but I cannot for the life of me figure out how to do them without spending hours upon hours adjusting them. I’ve tried the actions, different settings, dodge and burn, youtube, etc. Once I get it right they look great but a lot of the people who walk into my store want little keychains, bookmarks, small signs, etc. so I can’t charge a ton of money and I don’t want to turn people away. I’ll think I have it down and then I get a different project and I’m back to square one. The frustrating part is I’m a photo editor by trade so the fact that I can’t pinpoint how to get it right every time is driving me insane. At this point I’d pay someone to convert the few images I have to do a month. Is there a service that does this or does anyone have a surefire method of converting photos?

I’ve got a couple tricks, but they boil down to “use curves to fine tune it and stop when it looks right”.

I also find that I’ll do one and be like “it’s fine, I guess, not great”, people still love them. For most people this is pretty much magic.

Oh and also, another not apples-to-apples situation here is that I will look at a photo and just be like “nope”. If it isn’t a photo that will engrave well (like a poorly defined subject with too much clutter and noise), I just shut it down. Harder to do with customers. I don’t want to fool with masking a subject and then editing for hours, like you said.

TLDR, for most photos, if they’re decent candidates for engraving, I use curves to ensure the dynamic range is almost the entire range of black to white, and go for it. It usually works out.

4 Likes