Looking for Topography Cutting simplfied

Hi All,
I teach at an elementary school and have been using the glowforge full force with all of the kids. I have a fifth grader who wants to cut a topographic map of the Grand Canyon. I want to simplify it because obviously the thousands of contour lines are not duoble. Does anyone know where to find a very simplified grand canyon contour map or can point me in the direction of how to make one! I am very new to this as we just got the forge last month!
Thanks!

3 Likes

I saw one here but like you said it’s got a boatload of lines. You could probably open it in something and delete a few of the lines. (Or turn it into an end table.)

Grand Canyon Topo Maps

5 Likes

That’s one ambitious fifth grader. All of that kind of work I have seen here has been about converting the GIS data into a usable format. Sorry.

3 Likes

It takes a lot of time and effort to either edit down a complex file from an existing data source (i.e. GIS data) or hand-tracing an image in a vector image application (Inkscape, AI, etc.)

You can, however, greatly simplify it if you find the right source image or data, to only cut the perimeter, and simply score a number of further layers and canyon floor details.

A suitable task for a motivated student to take on, I’d think…

2 Likes

This could be an awesome vary power engrave just in half-inch-thick maple or something similar. The source is here but not very user-friendly.

2 Likes

Just stumbled on this, but it’s a perfect example of what I mean by simplifying it to make it a reasonable project for a 5th grader (or their teacher!)

2 Likes

Just a quick example. the right-side is the grey and the left is the 3D.

What a fun project! There are several 3d models of the Grand Canyon on Thingiverse.