Material Looks Smaller than Actual

Hello. I’m new to GF and I came across an issue that I can’t find the answer too. My problem is that I will put a 13x9 piece of plywood into the GF and after I select Set Focus the image of the plywood shrinks to like 12.5x9 (width x height). Why is this? So now my cut is showing that it will cut right on the edge of the wood, when there should be about 1/4” of wood left over. Hopefully that makes sense? What is happening?

1 Like

The lid camera has a fisheye lens lens and only shows the area available for cutting. Orient your material and artwork relative to the lower right corner. The cutting area of the Glowforge is approximately 10.9"x 19.5". This area is reduced if you are engraving.

Also, you should use the set focus tool before placing your artwork.

4 Likes

Also, in case you missed it, you can zoom in and out and pan the image. But yeah, Proofgrade (or similarly sized wood) is larger than the cut area.

1 Like

I’m not sure you are understanding my issue? When I get a chance I will take some pics and try and post them. I forgot to mention that when I put my material into the GF and the camera takes the image it is the correct size. It’s not until after I click the Focus button that it does this.

I thought that setting focus is so that the GF can determine the height to your material? If you click it before putting in your material, won’t that not be correct?

2 Likes

They’re advising you set focus before you place your artwork.

But your problem is that you have a piece of artwork you know is a little less than 13" high. When you put a piece of wood in the GF that is exactly 13" high and you set focus, your artwork no longer fits. The workpiece is smaller proportionally than it should be. The artwork appears to be exactly as high as the workpiece. But you know from measuring your artwork and the workpiece that the artwork is less than 13" and the workpiece is exactly 13".